Who We AreLands Preserved Board of Directors News Contact Us Become a Member Make a Donation Upcoming Events Paint for Preservation Tri for Preservation Photo Contest Volunteer Wish List Stewardship Education CELT on Facebook Trails Habitat and Wildlife Landowner Options Case Studies

Bookmark and Share

Thanks to You
Paint for Preservation 2013
Was The Best Ever!

Sixth Annual
Wet Paint Auction Benefit and Raffle

Sunday, July 14, 2013
Ram Island Farm

View Paintings from the Event

View Photos from the Event

On Sunday, July 14, in the early morning hours, thirty-one artists from Maine and beyond - all participants in CELT's 6th annual Paint for Preservation Wet Paint Auction - began setting up easels in some of Cape Elizabeth's most scenic locations. By that evening, these artists were joined by more than 350 guests, volunteers and land trust board and staff members at Ram Island Farm for a tented seaside reception and live auction. By 8:00 p.m. all thirty-one paintings had been sold. It was a remarkable success.

Paint for Preservation 2013, including the Wet Paint Auction and Raffle, raised nearly $60,000 to support CELT's local land conservation efforts - and this after sharing a portion of the sale proceeds with the artists. As with past Paint for Preservation events, guests universally praised the creative and inspirational works of art depicting scenes from our everyday surroundings. Paintings of Robinson Woods, Spurwink River, Alewives Farm, Pond Cove, Pulpit Rock, Zeb Cove and many other local landmarks reminded one and all of the wealth of beautiful landscapes throughout Cape Elizabeth.

New this year was the People's Choice Award in which all guests were welcomed to vote for their favorite painting. The award, a beautiful estate pin donated by Springer's Jewelers, went to Mike Marks.

The raffle prize, a granite and bronze sculpture by Lise Becu, was awarded to Cape residents Scott and Pam Richards. We once again thanks June LaCombe SCULPTURE for making the raffle possible.

With appreciation we recognize:
Philip and Julie Gordon

Media Sponsor
Maine Home + Design

Conservation Sponsors
Bath Savings Institution
Castle Kitchens
Ethos Marketing & Design
Inn by the Sea
Knickerbocker Group
Nappi Distributors
Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery Associates
R.M. Davis, Inc.
Town & Shore Associates

Stewardship Sponsors
Attardo Pondelis Architecture
Broadway Gardens Greenhouses
Casco Bay Frames & Gallery
Maine Limousine Service
Pierce Atwood LLP
Ram Island Home & Grounds
Springer’s Jewelers
Wright Ryan Homes

Event Sponsors
CVC Catering Group
Thomaston Place Auction Galleries

Kaja Veilleux
Thomaston Place Auction Galleries

Cul de Sax

Wet Paint Jurors
Jean Maginnis and Wes LaFountain
Founders, Maine Center for Creativity

Bill Barton
Paul Black
Paul V. Bonneau
Catherine Breer
RN Cohen
Daniel Corey
Marsha H. Donahue
Cooper Dragonette
Philip Frey
Roberta Goschke
Dan Graziano
Alison Hill
Tina Ingraham
Marianne V. Kuhn
Joshua Langstaff
Sally Loughridge
Mike Marks
Caren-Marie Michel
James Mullen
Ellen Pelletier
John R. Santoro
Ted Smith
Caleb Stone
Don Stone, N.A.
Janet Sutherland
Judy Taylor
Bill Tomsa
Emily Leonard Trenholm
Michael E. Vermette
Christopher Volpe
Corky Wennberg

Raffle Artist
Lise Becu
Shore Bird
Granite & Bronze Sculpture

Artist Hosts
Bob and Beverly Baross
Julian and Maryellen Coles
Jay Cox
Peter Eastman
Patty and Chris Grennon
Mark and Jeanette Hagen
Nancy and Hank Hancock
Herb and Kathleen Janick
Jodie and Patricia Jordan
Penny Jordan
Ram Island Farm
Jim and Lynn Shaffer
Van Stewart
Ann R. Strout

Artists' Meals Provided By
Scratch Baking Co.
Terra Cotta Pasta Co.
The Local Buzz

Art Presenters' Emsembles Provided By
Ann Veronica

Paint for Preservation 2013 Committee
Jean C. Hayes, Co-Chair
Susan Leighton, Co-Chair
Mary Anne Cary, founder
Claudia Dricot, founder
Margot Brill
Emily Keith
Evie Landry
Sue Sturtevant

Brooke Anable
Dan Barker
Maggie Bokor
Deb Bragdon
Elena Brandt
Marlyn Brita
Brett Brown
Frank Butterworth
Anne Carney
Billie Cary
Brett Cary
Chris Cary
Jim Cepican
Linda Cepican
McCauley Cliffe
Arla Cohen
Bob Dawson
Ethan Duperre
Bud Elliott
Liz Elliott
George Entwistle
Megan Entwistle
Nancy Entwistle
Ang Foley
Tom Gale
Terry Garrett
Griffin Gent
Henry Gent
Lisa Gent
Anna Goldstein
Janet Gordon
John Greene
Sue Guthrie
Bob Harrison
Ray Haversat
Carol Hubbard
Liz Huebener
Herb Janick
Kathleen Janick
Thomas Janick
Katie Lavallee
Paula Laverty
Jeffrey Leighton
Mackenzie Leighton
Devin MaGuire
Neil McGinn
Suzanne McGinn
Sheila Mayberry
Jan Molleur
Colleen Monroe
Gary O’Connor
Mary O’Connor
Alina Perez
Kelly Pietrzak
Pawel Pietrzak
Rusty Pillsbury
Suzanne Pillsbury
Gail Prince
Wendy Seltzer
Sheldon Smith
Sue Smith
Anna Strout
Frank Strout
Ashley Wernher-Collins
David Wennberg

Lisa Fourré, Administrator
Chris Franklin, Executive Director

And The Community
Cape Elizabeth Education Foundation
The Lion’s Club
Town of Cape Elizabeth Community Services
Town of Cape Elizabeth Public Works Department

Thank you for supporting the
Cape Elizabeth Land Trust!

Media Sponsor

Maine Home + Design

Event Sponsors

CVC Catering Group

Thomaston Place Auction Galleries

Conservation Sponsors

Bath Savings Institution

Castle Kitchens

Ethos Marketing and Design

Inn by the Sea

Knickerbocker Group

Nappi Distributors

Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery

Independent Financial Advisors

Town & Shore Associates

Watermatic Irrigation Company

Stewardship Sponsors

Attardo Pondelis Architecture

Broadway Gardens

Casco Bay Frames and Gallery


Maine Limousine Service

Pierce Atwood LLP

Ram Island Home & Grounds

Springer's Jewelers

Piper Shores